My Beloved Is Mine

TheologyGirl-ReformedWomen

TheologyGirl-ReformedWomen
“Devotions From the Heart”
“My Beloved Is Mine”
February 2015

My beloved is mine, and I am his;
he grazes among the lilies.”

The most beautiful bride that is or ever can be is the Bride of Christ.  The import of Christ’s declaration of His betrothal to His Church, is, and will always be the greatest love, the greatest sacrifice and greatest gift for that love.  We, as His Bride are wed to Him forever, not just today or tomorrow but for eternity and this is the greatest love story ever told.  The story of Christ (the Bridegroom) and His Church (the Bride).  How wonderful it is that we can be called His Bride for eternity.  Meditate on this for we are blessed for now and throughout eternity.  We wear His love, His ring of promise forever sealed in our hearts in His everlasting covenant.  Worship Him, adore Him, praise Him and love Him with every breath in every moment and boldly say with all of His church, My beloved is mine, and I am his….TG-RW

“These are the words of the church; who, having had such evidences of Christ’s love to her, and care of her, expresses her faith of interest in him, and suggests the obligations she lay under to observe his commands. The words are expressive of the mutual interest had Christ and his church have in each other: Christ is the church’s, by the Father’s gift of him to her, to be her Head, Husband, and Saviour; and by the gift of himself unto her, to be her Redeemer and ransom price; and by marriage, having espoused her to himself, in righteousness and loving-kindness; and by possession, he living and dwelling in her, by his Spirit and grace: the church also acknowledges herself to be his, as she was, by the Father’s gift of her to Christ, as his spouse and bride, his portion and inheritance; and by purchase, he having bought her with his precious blood; and by the conquest of her, by his grace in effectual calling; and by a voluntary surrender of herself unto him, under the influence of his grace: hence all he is, and has, are hers, his person, fulness, blood, and righteousness; and therefore can want no good thing.”**

The Bride Adores Her Beloved
~ ~ ~
The voice of my beloved!
Behold, he comes,
leaping over the mountains,
bounding over the hills.

My beloved is like a gazelle
or a young stag.
Behold, there he stands
behind our wall,
gazing through the windows,
looking through the lattice.

My beloved speaks and says to me:
“Arise, my love, my beautiful one,
and come away, for behold, the winter is past;
the rain is over and gone.

The flowers appear on the earth,
the time of singing has come,
and the voice of the turtle dove
is heard in our land.

The fig tree ripens its figs,
and the vines are in blossom;
they give forth fragrance.
Arise, my love, my beautiful one,
and come away.

O my dove, in the clefts of the rock,
in the crannies of the cliff,
let me see your face,
let me hear your voice,
for your voice is sweet,
and your face is lovely.

Catch the foxes for us,
the little foxes
that spoil the vineyards,
for our vineyards are in blossom.”

My beloved is mine, and I am his;
he grazes among the lilies.
Until the day breathes
and the shadows flee,
turn, my beloved, be like a gazelle
or a young stag on cleft mountains.”

Song of Solomon 2:8-17

______________________
*”Devotions From The Heart” by TheologyGirl-ReformedWomen
©2015 All Rights Reserved

** John Gill, Commentary on Song of Solomon

Leave a Reply

