“Making A Museum of Memories”

Title: “Making A Museum of Memories”
Author: TheologyGirl-ReformedWomen, Editor-Publisher

We are always talking about “making memories” with our children and families. We create photos, albums, videos, scrapbooks and keep all kinds of things as reminders or memories of special times with loved ones and friends. I love memories, especially good ones and they can be excellent in ministry or sharing with others. I also like making scrapbooks, or memory pages, and have a historical memory bulletin board (the second of two over a 20-year period) over my desk filled with pictures, notes, verses, cute and funny things to remember. I like to look up from my writing and take a memory walk as I peruse those treasures I have accumulated there. Most of the time when I look at it, I am blessed by good memories but there are some memories before me there that are sweetly sad or nostalgic. There is a picture of mom and me at a Bible Conference, arms wrapped around each other and I miss her terribly since her home-going to the Lord. There is a picture of my family and me sitting together during one of our craft boutiques and then again making cookies with my DH and mom. It sends me back to many of these precious times that mothers enjoy with their children and I miss them. I see friends who have gone home with Jesus, special notes with verses that lifted me high before Christ in difficult times and times of rejoicing. There are songs of praise, encouragements and poems, sweet things and sad things, memories.In reading Edith Schaeffer’s book “What is a Family” I was struck by what she says about family and memories:

“What is a family meant to be? Among other things, I personally have always felt it is meant to be a museum of memories—collections of carefully preserved memories and a realization that day-by-day memories are being chosen for our museum. Someone in the family—one who is happily making it his or her career, or both parents, perhaps a grandparent or two, aunts and uncles, older brothers and sisters—at least one person needs to be conscious that memories are important, and that time can be made to have double value by recognizing that what is done today will be tomorrow’s memory.”1/

Edith goes on to talk about our “making” or “planning” memories, creating times and opportunities for making them. I think we do this every day, whether purposely or inadvertently. We do this as we read to our children, homeschool them, discipline or teach them. We do this as we minister in our homes, in our churches, to our neighbors, friends and family. They are memories for us and for them. I like to think of them as Edith says: “they have double value.” Yesterday, DH and I strolled through antique shops in Leesburg, bought a lovely stone tablet of the Ten Commandments and a special stone “rose frame” for a portrait of us, and then we ate lunch in a lovely restaurant in an old restored bank building. We made “couple” memories. They are precious and sweet. They will be memories to cherish.

How are you creating memories? Have you thought about this? I am confident your list is as long as mine. Memories are sweet. Create some with your loved ones now to savor today and tomorrow.

“They shall utter the memory of Your great goodness, And shall sing of Your righteousness.” Psalm 145:7

_____
1/ Edith Schaffer, “What is a Family” Chapter 9, “A Museum of Memories” 165.

* * *
JoyPals.com-ReformedWomen, Editor & Publisher,“Heavenly Notes July 2003”

Leave a Reply

