“A Defense of Calvinism”


“John Newton used to tell a whimsical story, and laugh at it, too, of a good woman who said, in order to prove the doctrine of election, “Ah! sir, the Lord must have loved me before I was born, or else He would not have seen anything in me to love afterwards.” I am sure it is true in my case; I believe the doctrine of election, because I am quite certain that, if God had not chosen me, I should never have chosen Him; and I am sure He chose me before I was born, or else He never would have chosen me afterwards; and He must have elected me for reasons unknown to me, for I never could find any reason in myself why He should have looked upon me with special love. So I am forced to accept that great Biblical doctrine. I recollect an Arminian brother telling me that he had read the Scriptures through a score or more times, and could never find the doctrine of election in them. He added that he was sure he would have done so if it had been there, for he read the Word on his knees. I said to him, “I think you read the Bible in a very uncomfortable posture, and if you had read it in your easy chair, you would have been more likely to understand it. Pray, by all means, and the more, the better, but it is a piece of superstition to think there is anything in the posture in which a man puts himself for reading: and as to reading through the Bible twenty times without having found anything about the doctrine of election, the wonder is that you found anything at all: you must have galloped through it at such a rate that you were not likely to have any intelligible idea of the meaning of the Scriptures.”

Charles Spurgeon, “A Defense of Calvinism

2 thoughts on ““A Defense of Calvinism”

  1. reformedwomen says:

    Lane, you can continue the link at Blogspot since this blog does not have all of the contributors. Eventually it will be the main one once I get the new template completed and moved to my servers at JoyPals.com.

    btw…I like WordPress better but it lacks the controls we have for the HTML and scripts that we have at Blogspot. Thanks for linking me. I pray your vacation with family was a blessing. Your posts were missed!

Leave a Reply

